You and your racing bike in Carinthia

dreamlike above average

With its privileged location is the Wörtherseeperfect for all fans of Road bike tours in the south of the Alps. Whether extensive selective routes, or crisp mountain passes. From the largest lake in Carinthia you can find everything that makes cycling so special. Furthermore, the region Wörthersee invites you to tours to Italy and Slovenia from Carinthia. Already after 50 kilometres in the saddle you reach Tarvisio. For one thing, the Italian border town is perfect for a coffee stop. On the other hand it is the starting point for tours into the Julian Alps and Karawanken. There you will find some of the most beautiful classics in the Alps such as the Vršič pass or other top spots. Not enough yet? From here it is only 130 kilometres to the Adriatic Sea. For sure you'll find your new favourite tours with the road bike. Carinthia and the turquoise Wörthersee are especially with the road bike above average dreamlike.

Woerthersee

lifestyle region as base camp

It is Wörthersee regarded far beyond Carinthia as a colourful lifestyle stage in the south of Austria. Both its favourable climate and its turquoise water make you want to visit the region. The Mediterranean influence allows for fantastic cycling tours on a racing bike in Carinthia from March to the beginning of November. It is true that all bicycle fans are on the road during the day. Nevertheless, after the tour a refreshing jump into the wonderfully warm water is worthwhile. Therefore, with a water temperature of 26°C in summer there is no reason not to jump. Moreover, it is hard to end a day in such a wonderful way anywhere else. Whether it is with a chilly drink in one of the bars and cafés on the shore, or a gourmet dinner. The picturesque places with their top gastronomy make your stay very special. The best way for you to do this is to go through our 360° WörtherseeTour to get a great overview of the racing bike region in Carinthia.

By the way, you can Wörtherseealso take it home for your trips. Because with the Bicycle WörtherseeCollection you're perfectly equipped. Of course, the style factor is correspondingly high.

Carinthia and the Alps-Adriatic Region

Road bike in Carinthia - highly recommended

Let's get one thing straight. Of course we are in the Alps. The good news at this point is that this Wörthersee and the province of Carinthia are located south of the main ridge of the Alps on the border with Italy and Slovenia. Moreover, Mediterranean influences favour the climate for all cyclists. So nothing stands in the way of cycling in the Alps from early March to early November.

General map of Austria with drawn in federal state Carinthia and marker for the Wörthersee.

Accordingly, you feel really comfortable on a racing bike with a short jersey and bib shorts from May to September. Nevertheless, warm temperatures invite you to go on day tours in spring and autumn. Especially in spring many athletes in the region prepare for their competition season. On the one hand they partly use the original routes of events like the Ironman Austria. On the other hand, the most beautiful bike tours at this time are not very heavily frequented by cars. Of course, we also have the most important information here about Training and Competitions in a nutshell.

In July and August daytime temperatures of 34°C are not uncommon. Fortunately, most of the wells in the villages along the tours have drinking water quality (pay attention to the signs!). Regular filling of your bidons is therefore virtually guaranteed in Carinthia. While during the day sweating on the saddle is on the program, it cools down pleasantly at night. Thus, in contrast to more southern destinations, sufficient regeneration is possible during sleep. In the summer months, short thunderstorms of warmth can occasionally be expected in the afternoon. A thin rain jacket should therefore be taken along with the appropriate weather forecast.


Offers and recommendations on Wörthersee


Join our Strava Club

discover locals and friends of Woerthersee in the STRAVA Club Lake Woerthersee by bike

Connect with like-minded people, find new tour suggestions and of course lots of hot segments in the region.
Maybe you will take a KOM/QOM home with you as a holiday souvenir?


Cycling events in Carinthia

here the focus is definitely on the two-wheeler.

Jeroboam Gravel Challenge in Austria 2 to 3 October 2020

JEROBOAM 2020

The Bohemians Southern Cyclists Club together with 3T Bikes invites you to the first Jeroboam Gravel Challenge in Austria this year.

On 2 and 3 October 2020 the - non-competitive - Community Gravel-Challenge will take place in Velden onWörthersee

Be there when Austrian gravel history is written on the 75 or 150 km long gravel tour through Carinthia.

HERE go directly to the registration!

Due to the exceptional situation caused by COVID-19, the authorities unfortunately do not allow events to take place at all or only in a limited way. In case of doubt, please contact the organizer directly.

Nevertheless, we would like to give you an overview of the many possibilities of our region, which you can usually experience with us. In the meantime please stay healthy and RIDE ON!

Cycling events all over Carinthia

06.-23.
May/Sep
05.-25.
Jun/Sep
01.-12.
Jun/Oct
01.-12.
Jun/Oct

You love your bike. So are we!

For a perfect racing bike holiday in Carinthia you need of course a few things. First of all, you should feel comfortable. Secondly, your bike deserves a little wellness. Here are a few recommendations for you both:

wellness for your bike

shops | service | rental

Uran Bike Shop | Velden
Shop | Rental | Service

more info

Sione Bikes | Pörtschach
Custom Made at Wörthersee.

more info

Special Bikes | Moosburg
Road bike only.

more info

wellness for you

specialized accommodations

Pension Hoogerland
Cycling holidays at the pro

to accommodation

Seehotel Hubertushof****
(bike)enjoyment on the highest level

to accommodation


With us everything with pedals is welcome.

More than just a racing bike in Carinthia.

It Wörthersee is suitable above average for racing bikes. Nevertheless, the region in the heart of Carinthia enjoys a lot of cyclists of different categories. Whether big or small, with narrow wheels or with a lot of profile. A multitude of (signposted) cycle paths also lead all pleasure cyclists to their destination. Consequently, they feel especially comfortable in the picturesque villages and towns while cycling along. There are plenty of places to stop for refreshments along the routes. There is good news for all eBikers in Carinthia. On the one hand, long-distance cycle paths like the Drau cycle route or the Ciclovia Alpe Adria - from Salzburg via Carinthia to the Adriatic Sea - to extended tours. On the other hand Carinthia offers with Rent e Bike an extensive network of around 50 rental outlets. As a result, you can then return your bike to any location.

This is a special highlight for stage cyclists. Just like the other two long-distance cycle routes, the large Carinthian lake loop its special charm.

MOUNTAIN BIKE IN CARINTHIA

Off to the trails.

On the Wörtherseemountain bikers will find five legal routes. But the region is surrounded by really cool mountain bike spots. In any case, you should test Europe's longest Flow Country Trail in the Bike Park Petzen. Furthermore you will find lots of flowing trails at the Faaker SeeMTB Skill-Center areaone in Villach. The lake.bike Community provides you with information and route descriptions from the scene for the scene.

Moreover, in the region Bad Kleinkirchheim currently 15 mountain bike tours and seven single trails to be discovered. Even though not yet with so many trails the Weissensee with attractive routes on you as well.

The bottom line is that Carinthia offers a constantly growing range of mountain bike holidays. In addition, the Slovenian border town of Kranjska Gora is developing splendidly. In other words, the place with its Bike Park already a paradise for mountain bikers.

Du und dein Rennrad im Süden Österreichs

Überdurchschnittlich traumhaft

Mit seiner begünstigten Lage ist der Wörthersee perfekt für alle Fans von Touren am Rennrad im Süden der Alpen. Ob ausgedehnte selektive Routen, oder knackige Bergpässe. Vom größten See Kärntens aus findest du alles, was den Radsport so besonders macht. Außerdem lädt die Region zu Touren nach Italien und Slowenien. Bereits nach 50 Kilometern im Sattel erreicht man Tarvisio. Zum einen ist der italienische Grenzort ist perfekt für einen Kaffeestopp. Zum anderen Ausgangspunkt für Touren in die Julischen Alpen und Karawanken. Dort findest du dann einige der schönsten Klassiker in den Alpen wie beispielsweise den Vršič-Pass oder weitere Top Spots. Noch nicht genug? Bis zur Adria sind es von hier aus nur mehr 130 Kilometer. Ganz sicher findest du hier deine neuen Lieblingstouren mit dem Rennrad.

Der Wörthersee

Lifestyle Region als Basecamp

Der Wörthersee gilt als bunte Lifestylebühne im Süden Österreichs. Sowohl sein begünstigtes Klima, als auch sein türkisblaues Wasser machen Lust auf die Region. Der mediterrane Einfluss erlaubt traumhafte Radtouren von März bis Anfang November. Zwar sind alle Zweirad-Fans tagsüber bekanntlich unterwegs. Nichts desto trotz lohnt sich nach der Tour ein erfrischender Sprung ins herrlich warme Wasser. Demzufolge gibt es bei 26°C Wassertemperatur im Sommer keinen Grund nicht zu springen. Außerdem lässt sich ein Tag kaum wo anders so herrlich Ausklingen. Ob bei einem chilligen Drink in einer der Bars und Cafés am Ufer, oder einem Gourmet-Dinner. Die malerischen Orte mit ihrer Top-Gastronomie machen deinen Aufenthalt ganz besonders. Dazu kannst du dich am besten einmal durch unsere 360° Wörthersee Tour klicken, damit du einen tollen Gesamtüberblick bekommst.

Übrigens kannst du dir den Wörthersee auch für deine Ausfahrten nach Hause holen. Denn mit der Velo Wörthersee Collection bist du perfekt ausgestattet. Entsprechend hoch ist natürlich auch der Style-Faktor.

KÄRNTEN und Die Alpe-Adria Region

Rennrad im Süden Österreichs – Wärmstens zu empfehlen

Eines vorweg. Natürlich befinden wir uns in den Alpen. Die gute Nachricht an dieser Stelle: Der Wörthersee liegt südlich des Alpen-Hauptkammes an der Grenze zu Italien und Slowenien. Überdies begünstigen mediterrane Einflüsse das Klima für alle Radsportler. Radfahren in den Alpen steht somit von Anfang März bis Anfang November nichts im Wege.

Übersichtskarte von Österreich mit eingezeichnetem Bundesland Kärnten und Marker für den Wörthersee.

Entsprechend fühlt man sich mit kurzem Trikot und Bib-Shorts von Mai bis September so richtig wohl. Nichts desto trotz laden durchaus warme Temperaturen auch im Frühling und Herbst zu Tagestouren. Gerade im Frühjahr bereiten sich viele Sportler in der Region auf ihre Bewerbs-Saison vor. Einerseits nützen sie teils die Originalstrecken von Events wie den Ironman Austria. Andererseits sind gerade die schönsten Radtouren zu dieser Zeit nicht sehr stark von Autos befahren. Natürlich haben wir dir hier auch die wichtigsten Infos zu Training und Wettkämpfen kurz zusammengefasst.

Im Juli und August sind Tagestemperaturen von 34°C keine Seltenheit. Glücklicherweise verfügen die meisten Brunnen in den Orten entlang der Touren über Trinkwasserqualität (Schilder beachten!). Regelmäßige Füllmöglichkeiten deiner Bidons sind daher quasi sichergestellt. Während tagsüber Schwitzen am Sattel am Programm steht, kühlt es in der Nacht angenehm ab. Somit ist im Gegensatz zu südlicheren Destinationen ausreichend Regeneration während des Schlafes möglich. In den Sommermonaten ist gelegentlich mit kurzen Wärmegewittern in den Nachmittagsstunden zu rechnen. Eine dünne Regenjacke sollte daher bei entsprechender Wetterprognose dabei sein.


Join our Strava Club

Entdecke Locals und Freunde des Wörthersees im STRAVA Club Velo Woerthersee

Verbinde dich mit Gleichgesinnten, finde neue Tourenvorschläge und natürlich jede Menge heiße Segmente in der Region.
Vielleicht nimmst du einen KOM/QOM als Urlaubserinnerung mit nach Hause?


Rad Events in Kärnten

Hier steht das Zweirad definitiv im Mittelpunkt.

01.-29.
Jul
02.-02.
Aug
18.-18.
Aug
30.-25.
Jun/Aug

Du liebst dein Bike. Wir auch!

Für einen perfekten Rennrad Urlaub braucht es natürlich ein paar Dinge. Erstens solltest vor allem du dich wohlfühlen. Zweitens verdient auch dein Rad ein bisschen Wellness. Hier ein paar Empfehlungen für euch beide:

Wellness für dein Bike

Shops | Service | Verleihe

Uran Bike Shop | Velden
Shop | Verleih | Service

mehr Infos

Sione Bikes | Pörtschach
Custom Made at Wörthersee.

mehr Infos

Special Bikes | Moosburg
Rennrad und Punkt.

mehr Infos

Wellness für dich

Spezialisierte Unterkünfte

Pension Hoogerland
Radurlaub beim Profi

zur Unterkunft

Seehotel Hubertushof****
(Rad)Genuss auf höchstem Niveau

zur Unterkunft


Mehr als nur Rennrad im Süden

Bei uns ist alles mit Pedalen willkommen.

Der Wörthersee eignet sich zwar überdurchschnittlich gut für Rennräder. Nichts desto trotz erfreut sich die Region jeder Menge Radfahrer der unterschiedlichsten Kategorien. Ob groß, ob klein, mit schmalen Rädern oder mit viel Profil. Eine Vielzahl an (beschilderten) Radwegen führen auch alle Genuss-Radfahrer an ihr Ziel. Folglich fühlen diese sich in den malerischen Orten beim gemütlichen dahin radeln besonders wohl. Jede Menge Einkehrmöglichkeiten entlang der Strecken laden zu regelmäßigen Zwischenstopps. Für alle eBiker gibt es in Kärnten gute Nachrichten. Zum einen laden Fernradwege wie der Drauradweg oder der Ciclovia Alpe Adria zu ausgedehnten Touren. Zum anderen bietet Kärnten mit Rent e Bike ein ausgedehntes Netz mit rund 50 Verleihstellen. Infolgedessen kannst du dein Leihrad dann an beliebiger Stelle zurückgeben.

Dadurch ergibt sich für Etappen-Radfahrer ein besonderes Highlight. Genauso wie die beiden anderen Fernradwege hat die große Kärntner Seenschleife ihren besonderen Charme.

MOUNTAINBIKE IN KÄRNTEN

Ab auf die Trails.

Am Wörthersee finden Mountainbiker fünf legale Strecken. Dafür befindet sich die Region umgeben von richtig coolen Mountainbike Spots. Auf jeden Fall testen solltest du Europas längstem Flow Country Trail im Bike Park Petzen. Weiters findest du jede Menge flowige Trails am Faaker See oder das MTB Skill-Center areaone in Villach. Die lake.bike Community liefert dir Informationen und Streckenbeschreibungen von der Szene für die Szene.

Überdies warten in der Region Bad Kleinkirchheim aktuell 15 Mountainbiketouren und sieben Singletrails darauf, entdeckt zu werden. Wenngleich noch nicht mit ganz so vielen Trails wartet der Weissensee mit attraktiven Strecken ebenfalls auf euch.

Unter dem Strich findest du in Kärnten ein ständig wachsendes Angebot für deinen Mountainbike Urlaub. Zusätzlich entwickelt sich der slowenische Grenzort Kranjska Gora prächtig. Anders gesagt ist der Ort mit seinem Bike Park bereits jetzt ein Paradies für Mountainbiker.